Start with the premise: this is an advanced guide, not a repeat of the basics
This article covers advanced differentiation, not basic troubleshooting. The basic four-layer check - adapter, charging port, battery, and motherboard power delivery - is covered in the earlier batch03 article titled in Chinese as a four-layer troubleshooting guide for a laptop that will not charge when plugged in (slug: laptop-not-charging-4-layer-troubleshooting-hk). If your laptop has not been through that basic check, read that article first instead of jumping straight into the advanced judgements here. This article assumes the basics have already been checked and the problem is still there, concentrated in two symptoms.
The first symptom is 'works only while plugged in, dies the moment you unplug': the laptop powers on and runs normally on the adapter, but shuts down immediately when the cable is removed, with no battery runtime at all. The second is 'shows charging but the percentage does not rise': the battery icon says charging and the charging light is on, but the percentage stays on the same number for a long time, or slowly falls under heavy load. The two symptoms can appear on the same machine, but their diagnostic logic is different. Do not treat them as mutually exclusive, and do not diagnose a failed part from one symptom alone.
Source levels are stated up front and used throughout. Official documentation means support documents or manuals from Microsoft, Lenovo, Dell, ASUS, HP, and other vendors. Official forums means replies by vendor staff or moderators on official forums, which are not the same as formal support documents, and some replies are explicitly marked as personal views. Vendor FAQs means official question-and-answer documents from parts or accessory vendors. Third-party guides means repairer or media guides, which are not vendor statements. Forum experience means individual cases shared by users or technicians on forums, usable only as evidence that such cases exist. Any fact that is unconfirmed or disputed is marked 'unconfirmed' or described as a disagreement in the text. Nothing unconfirmed is written as a conclusion, and nothing is dressed up as an official statement.
Chapter 1: Define the two main symptoms before anything else
'Dies when unplugged' points to 'the battery currently has no usable charge to supply'. 'Percentage does not rise' points to one of four areas: power supply, the charging path, a charge-limit setting, or load. The percentage behaviour must also be split three ways: rising slowly, stuck, and falling. Their causes differ and must not be conflated.
Symptom comparison table
| Symptom | Literal meaning | Key observation questions | Initial direction only, not a diagnosis |
|---|---|---|---|
| A: Dies when unplugged | Runs on the adapter, shuts down immediately when unplugged, no battery runtime | Does it run normally while plugged in? What was the percentage before unplugging? Does it die instantly or run for a few more minutes? | Battery with no usable charge, a battery connection problem, or a charging-circuit problem are all possible; cross-testing is needed |
| B1: Shows charging but the percentage is stuck | Icon says charging, but the percentage stays on the same number for a long time | Is it stuck on a round threshold such as 60% or 80%, or on a random number such as 37% or 53%? At idle or under load? | A round threshold points first to a limit setting; a random stuck number points to the power or charging path |
| B2: Shows charging but the percentage slowly falls | Icon says charging, but the percentage falls while in use | Does it rise at idle and fall only when gaming or rendering, or does it fall even at idle? | The first pattern points more to wattage failing to keep up with load; the second points more to the power path, charging path, or the battery itself |
| A + B together | Percentage stuck at a low level and the machine dies when unplugged | Is any charge actually getting into the battery at all? | The root cause could be the adapter, cable, port, charging circuit, or battery; the combination alone cannot separate them, so follow the cross-testing flow in Chapter 8 |
Chapter 2: Reading the Windows message 'Plugged in, not charging'
The literal meaning of 'Plugged in, not charging' is only that Windows sees AC power but the battery is not currently accepting charge. The message itself is not a fault name, only a status description. Its possible causes include at least a limit setting, insufficient adapter power, a driver problem, a failed battery, and a charging-circuit problem. It must not be attributed to a single cause.
The first split is where the percentage stops. Third-party guides state clearly that stopping on a fixed value such as 60% or 80% is usually a vendor charge-limit feature, not a fault, and the vendor battery tool should be checked first. Lenovo official support likewise explains '60% available (plugged in, not charging)' as possibly meaning a battery-life extension setting is on. By contrast, stopping on a random number for a long time looks less like a limit setting.
Message comparison table (a third-party summary, not a Microsoft official table)
| Message or display | More likely meaning | Check first | Source level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plugged in, not charging, stuck on 60% or 80% or another fixed threshold | Vendor charge-limit setting (see Chapter 6) | Vendor battery tool and BIOS limit setting | Third-party guides plus a Lenovo official support example |
| Plugged in, not charging, stuck on a random number | Less likely to be a limit setting; check the power or charging path | Adapter wattage, BIOS identification, cable, driver | Third-party summary |
| Plugged in, charging, but the percentage does not rise | The system says it is charging, but charge is not accumulating | Whether the percentage rises at idle or in sleep, adapter wattage, load | Microsoft official support on slow charging or discharging while plugged in |
| Plugged in, discharging | The battery is draining faster than it charges, so charging is extremely slow | Load and adapter wattage (see Chapter 4) | Third-party distinction, unconfirmed as a complete Microsoft official table |
| No plug icon at all | Windows does not see the charger at all | Wall socket, cable, port, adapter, before suspecting the battery | Third-party guides |
| Battery icon with a red cross for a long time | A third-party guide says this means Windows sees the charger but not the battery | Verify what the icon means on that exact model; do not treat it as a universal rule | Third-party guides only, unconfirmed, not verified in official text |
Chapter 3: Battery ageing versus charging-circuit failure
The typical ageing trajectory is gradually shortening runtime, not a change from normal to zero in a single day. Third-party guides describe ageing symptoms including sudden shutdowns, failure to charge, overheating, and swelling, while another guide stresses fast drain, failure to hold charge, and runtime shrinking over time. These are general summaries with no per-model measurable threshold. Shortening runtime alone cannot confirm ageing either, because background programs, screen brightness, and power mode also affect runtime, so the battery report must be used as a cross-check.
'Dies when unplugged' most commonly points to a battery with no usable capacity left, a failed battery, or an internally disconnected battery. A third-party summary describes this as battery wear, failure, or internal disconnection requiring replacement, and forum experience includes a case judged by a vendor battery diagnostic to be a battery fault. But the symptom alone cannot prove a charging-circuit fault, because when the battery itself has failed, AC power can be normal while the battery still takes no charge. Cross-testing is required to narrow it down.
'Replacing the battery will fix it' is not guaranteed. The same symptom has three different replacement targets: dying when unplugged can mean replacing the battery; a BIOS that does not recognise the adapter can mean replacing the adapter or repairing the port; and a BIOS that recognises the adapter but still will not charge after a battery swap points to the motherboard charging circuit. A forum reply also stated that a charging-mechanism fault is theoretically possible but trying a battery swap first is cheaper and easier. That is a cost-ordering suggestion, not a diagnosis. A counter-example must also be noted: a forum case where a laptop died immediately with the battery fitted but ran fine on the adapter alone, with a repair shop suggesting a motherboard replacement. That is the reverse symptom of 'dies when fitted', pointing to the motherboard or battery circuit, not simply to a dead battery.
A more specific clue to a charging-circuit or power-chain fault is a BIOS that does not recognise the adapter, or a charging light with no response at all. Dell official documentation states that when the BIOS shows the AC adapter as Unknown, the system may throttle and the battery may not charge, with causes usually related to the adapter, the DC-in socket, or the motherboard charging circuit, and the power-on self-test may report that the adapter wattage and type cannot be determined. The diagnostic meaning is clear: if the BIOS already fails to recognise the adapter, the problem is outside Windows. Conversely, if the BIOS recognises the correct wattage but Windows still reports not charging, the investigation should lean first toward Windows drivers or limit settings.
There is also a reverse test from a third-party guide, with no identical statement found in official documentation, so it is labelled as such: if the display shows 0% but the machine still runs for a while after unplugging, the battery itself is not dead, and the problem is more likely in the reading, the driver, or the charge-gauge calibration. Conversely, dying instantly when unplugged plus a Full Charge Capacity near zero supports a battery-failure branch more strongly.
Reading powercfg /batteryreport
The built-in Windows command powercfg /batteryreport generates a battery report as an HTML file. The /output option can set the path, for example powercfg /batteryreport /output battery-report.html. Different guides give different default paths, but they agree on one point: the command prints the actual saved location, which should be used, and /output can be used to avoid hunting for the file. Whether administrator rights are required and what the default path is are unconfirmed in the research, with guides disagreeing on both points.
On the reporting period, a Microsoft Q&A reply states that requesting 365 days returns a maximum duration of 14 days. The report therefore reflects only recent use and a capacity-history summary, and a single report cannot be used to infer the whole long-term ageing curve of the machine.
Battery report field table
| Field or section | Meaning | How to read it |
|---|---|---|
| Design Capacity | The capacity the battery was designed with at manufacture, in milliwatt-hours | The factory baseline |
| Full Charge Capacity | The capacity when fully charged now | Divide Full Charge Capacity by Design Capacity and multiply by 100% to estimate retained capacity arithmetically, for example 44,120 divided by 53,000 is about 83%. This is only an arithmetic example, not a pass mark |
| Cycle Count | The cycle count reported by the battery; some batteries leave it blank | A blank field does not mean the report is broken; some models simply do not provide this field |
| Recent usage, Battery usage | Recent use and battery use records | Compare against periods when the machine was plugged in but losing charge |
| Battery capacity history | How Full Charge Capacity changes over time | The slope over time is more informative than a single percentage |
| Battery life estimates | Current full-charge runtime versus design-capacity runtime | Compare how much runtime has shrunk, not a single number alone |
Report numbers can also be affected by charge-gauge calibration. A Lenovo official user guide states that the battery may optimise its Full Charge Capacity according to use, and that after a long period of limited use the full capacity may not be immediately available until the battery is discharged to about 20% and then fully charged. A single low Full Charge Capacity reading therefore does not necessarily mean permanent battery damage. When a reading is suspected to be inaccurate, one full discharge and recharge cycle can be used as a comparison before concluding that the battery must be replaced, but this does not apply to a swollen or abnormally hot battery (see Chapter 7).
The following four-branch comparison is a research synthesis, not a diagnostic flow from a single official document, and is labelled as such: dying when unplugged plus an extremely low or near-zero Full Charge Capacity supports the battery-failure branch; dying when unplugged plus a still-high Full Charge Capacity raises suspicion of a disconnected battery, gauge inaccuracy, or a power-chain problem, requiring BIOS and battery-swap cross-tests; a percentage that will not rise plus a normal Full Charge Capacity plus a fixed threshold value points first to the Chapter 6 limit settings; and a percentage that will not rise plus a report showing continued discharge during recent use points to the insufficient-power or heavy-load branch.
Chapter 4: Insufficient adapter wattage and USB-C PD negotiation failure
The wattage of the original adapter for each machine should be taken from the adapter label, the machine specification, or the official manual. Dell states that the USB-C adapter supplied with a Dell laptop is matched to that machine's power needs, not sized to leave spare power for peripherals. An HP official store article gives a general guide of about 45W for light machines and about 65W for standard machines, but the article itself stresses checking your own model rather than applying it directly. Another HP official store article lists a USB-C adapter ladder of 45W, 65W, 90W, and 110W, and calls 65W the standard replacement choice for most machines, again only as a general classification, not a per-model specification.
When wattage is insufficient, Dell issues a direct warning and the battery may not charge. The Dell official document quotes a start-up warning to the effect that a 57W adapter was detected, below the recommended 65W original, the battery may not charge, the system will adjust performance to the available power, and a Dell 65W or higher adapter is recommended for best performance, with the wattage actually shown varying by connected device. The applicable models are limited, so this must not be written as if every Dell machine shows the same warning. When powering through a dock or dongle, the problem is not only that the adapter itself is small: power consumed by the peripherals themselves must also be subtracted.
Power through a dock or hub is discounted before it reaches the machine. Dell official documentation states that the adapter must be powerful enough to supply both the dock or hub and the laptop, that the supplied adapter is not sized for extra peripherals, and that the dock or hub itself consumes at least around 15W, with the remainder going to the machine. The same Dell document gives the example that most new machines ship with a 130W adapter, but only 90W reaches the machine after a dock or hub.
Dell Pro 7-in-1 Travel Hub (DA310) PD pass-through comparison (this hub model only, not a rule for all docks)
| Input wattage | Wattage delivered to the machine |
|---|---|
| 130W | 90W |
| 90W | 75W |
| 65W | 50W |
| 45W | Below 45W (does not charge) |
Need a laptop repair expert?
Free diagnosis · Transparent pricing · No fix, no fee · 180-day warranty
A Lenovo official FAQ for its 65W USB-C adapter states three 'does not rise or falls' mechanisms most plainly, with the scope limited to that 65W adapter and not to be generalised unconditionally to all Lenovo machines. First, slow charging may be because the machine itself does not support fast charging, or because its standard power draw already exceeds 65W. Second, falling charge while plugged in: if the machine draws more than 65W, for example while running a heavy program, the adapter supplies 65W and the battery covers the shortfall, so the charge falls while plugged in, and the document recommends the supplied adapter in such cases. Third, complete failure to charge has two possible reasons: the adapter's maximum output is 65W and some high-draw models refuse low-power input, so charging is refused; or the adapter uses the PD protocol and a machine that does not support PD cannot charge from it.
The safe formulation is: a 65W adapter plugged into a machine that needs 90W or 130W may produce three outcomes - slow charging, failure to hold charge (falling under heavy load), or outright refusal to charge or a low-wattage warning - and which one appears depends on the model design and the current load, not on a single rule. Unsafe formulations include 'a 65W adapter will always charge, only more slowly', which contradicts the refusal of low-power input on some models, and 'a 90W adapter is always much faster than 65W', because after dock discounting or a 60W cable limit the power actually reaching the machine may be below the label.
Not every USB-C port supports charging input. An HP official forum reply from HP staff describes a Victus model case: one USB-C port on that machine offered SuperSpeed plus Sleep and Charge (able to charge small external devices and support display output), but the documentation did not state PD input support, and even with 45W, 65W, or 100W PD adapters the machine would not take power through that port. The conclusion was that many HP laptop USB-C ports do data or display only, not charging, and unless the specification explicitly states PD charging support, that port will not charge the machine. A third-party Lenovo guide gives the same warning: use a USB-C port with charging capability, look for a power or lightning mark, and when charging through a hub or dock fails, bypass the hub and plug directly into the machine first.
The barrel versus USB-C dividing line must be stated per model. An HP official forum reply from HP staff describes a Victus 16 model case: that machine's USB-C port supported PD charging up to 65W, gaming at 65W could be slow or only hold charge, and full performance required the supplied 200W barrel adapter. Another thread about an OMEN Transcend case has a community reply stating that the machine needs at least 200W and recommending the supplied barrel adapter. These numbers belong only to individual high-power model cases and must not be written as general rules. A marketplace article's claims about another model's USB-C PD limit and barrel requirement are unconfirmed in official documentation and are not cited here.
For original versus third-party adapters, the point is not the brand but whether the machine recognises it and whether negotiation succeeds. On Dell, a BIOS showing the adapter as Unknown plus a start-up message that adapter wattage and type cannot be determined can lead to throttling and failure to charge, and Dell documentation recommends contacting Dell technical support in that case. On Lenovo, official documentation for a ThinkPad T470p records symptoms including a start-up message that the adapter wattage is incorrect, failure to recognise the adapter, and failure to charge the main battery, with the official remedy in that case being a BIOS update first, not an immediate battery or adapter swap, but that remedy is limited to that model and BIOS version. On HP, the Smart Pin mechanism lets a 90W Smart adapter safely power a 65W machine and adjust its output automatically, while connector size and centre-pin type still differ by machine family. The safe formulation is: original adapters cause fewer 'not recognised' problems because wattage, voltage, connector, and identification are matched to the machine, while a third-party adapter with the same labelled wattage may still be refused, throttled, or performance-limited if its protocol, connector, or identification does not match. That must not be written as 'all third-party adapters fail', nor as 'a higher-wattage adapter is always safe'. Both sides must be stated together.
On USB-C PD negotiation, third-party summaries derived second-hand from the USB specification are used here, not the specification text itself, and must be cited as such. The basic concept is that the charger and device exchange capability information over the USB-C CC wires, and the device picks a voltage and current combination both sides support before charging starts. A larger adapter therefore does not force more power into the device than it requests; the device takes only what it asks for. The fixed voltage ladder includes 5V, 9V, 12V, 15V, and 20V, where 20V at 3A is 60W and at 5A is 100W. Extended Power Range under PD 3.1 adds 28V (140W), 36V (180W), and 48V (240W) at 5A, and running in that range requires an electronically marked cable supporting 5A. The cable is a bottleneck: an ordinary USB-C cable without an electronic marker is generally limited to 3A, which is a 60W cap at 20V, so even with a 100W adapter the negotiated result through a 60W cable is only 60W, and exceeding 60W requires a 5A electronically marked cable. The weakest-link principle is that a power meter only shows the value actually negotiated at that moment between charger, cable, and device. If the machine itself only asks for 65W, the meter will show only 65W even if the cable supports 100W or 240W, and a low meter reading does not by itself prove the cable is substandard. The electronic marker is also only a declaration written in a chip, not a physical test: a third-party report notes that some cables on the market carry marker declarations that do not match their actual construction, and software can only read what the chip claims, not verify the materials inside the cable, so a package claiming 240W does not guarantee 240W in practice. Whether an individual model supports a high-power range must be checked against that model's specification. No universal support list was found, so this article does not state that USB-C charges at 240W.
How to find out how many watts the machine actually takes, from most reliable to most indirect: first, read the adapter label output, where volts multiplied by amps equals watts, a method Dell official documentation teaches for verifying adapter wattage. Second, read the BIOS adapter identification: Dell teaches pressing F2 at start-up, with newer models showing it in the Overview battery section and older models under General and Battery Information, and Unknown means the system does not recognise the adapter and the battery may not charge. Third, read the Windows battery icon status text, while understanding its limit: Windows only shows states such as plugged in and charging or plugged in and not charging, and does not directly show wattage. Whether Windows has a built-in wattage display is unconfirmed: the official documents found only teach the icon status text and BIOS identification, so this article does not state that wattage can be seen inside Windows Settings. Fourth, third-party monitoring tools: on supported models, HWiNFO sensor views can show battery charge rate in watts, charge current multiplied by battery voltage, and adapter power, where a positive value means charging and a negative value means discharging, but accuracy varies by vendor and not every machine reports the same fields, so this is reference only. Fifth, an external USB power meter placed between the adapter and the machine shows voltage, current, and instantaneous power in real time, but the meter only reflects the negotiated result, not the cable's theoretical limit. Sixth, a swap test: try a known-good adapter at or above the original wattage plus a matching PD cable, bypass the dock or hub, and try another USB-C charging port if one exists. This method is synthesised from multiple sources' troubleshooting steps and should be written as steps, not as a guarantee, because a motherboard charging-circuit fault will not change when the adapter is swapped.
A fourth cause of 'shows charging but the percentage does not rise' is load exceeding supply. Microsoft official support states that when the charger is out of specification or underpowered, the computer may charge slowly or discharge while plugged in, and the charger, cable, and computer must all support the required power level, otherwise the machine cannot keep up even while plugged in. Another vendor knowledge base likewise states that when charging through a USB-C hub, if the laptop needs more power than the hub can provide, charging may be slow, hold steady without rising, or slowly discharge under heavy load, and the remedy is to use the original adapter plugged directly in. As a practical comparison, the research suggests checking whether the percentage can rise at idle or in sleep as a way to separate insufficient power from a battery or circuit fault, but no official document was found presenting a sleep-charging test as a formal diagnostic step, so it is labelled here as a practical suggestion, not an official diagnosis.
Dell official documentation on Hybrid Power design, limited to certain Alienware, Precision, and Dell G models, states that under extreme load the system may draw on the battery at the same time, losing up to about 5% per hour while plugged in in order to maintain performance without throttling, and that below 20% Hybrid Power is disabled, after which stuttering or throttling may appear. These numbers are limited to their own models and designs and must not be combined into a universal limit table.
Chapter 5: Loose, worn, or poorly contacting charging ports
The core signs are a reaction only when the cable is moved, an angle problem, and intermittent connection. A repair guide's quick checks are: moving the cable makes charging come and go, pointing to port damage; several adapters all feeling loose or unstable, pointing more to the port than to the adapter; and a visibly bent pin or a port that itself moves, which is a strong sign of damage. Another guide from the same organisation lists warnings including internal movement of the port, sparks, overheating near the connector, charging interruptions, and needing a specific angle to charge. A third-party repair guide lists the same group of signs, including intermittent charging, charging only at a specific angle, a loose or wobbling plug, complete failure to recognise the adapter, visible damage such as bent pins, cracks, or discolouration, and abnormal heating at or near the charging port.
Separating a bad cable from a bad port from something stuck inside starts with a swap test: if several adapters all feel loose, the port is more likely; conversely, if only one cable is loose while another sits firmly, suspect that cable or its plug first. For visual and feel checks, done with the machine powered off, a healthy port should grip the plug firmly. A plug that falls out easily, looseness with every adapter, or power cutting out when the machine moves slightly are typical descriptions of port wear or damage. Dust or debris in the port is listed as a cause by several third-party guides, but no Dell, HP, or Lenovo official document was found in the research giving step-by-step instructions for cleaning a laptop charging port, so cleaning is mentioned here only as a general reminder - powered off, careful, and no hard metal prying - and is unconfirmed as an official procedure.
Internal cable breakage overlaps heavily with port looseness. Lower-level repair material states that when the adapter output cable breaks internally, the outside may look intact while only movement or a specific angle makes contact, so movement alone cannot separate an internal cable break from a bad port, and a cable swap test is required. A Dell barrel centre pin that is bent can also make the machine fail to recognise the adapter, showing that port-versus-plug diagnosis must look at the pin itself, not only at looseness.
Advanced physical damage signs mean stop and do not keep 'finding the angle': the port itself moving (the whole port, not just the plug), cracks, discolouration, a burnt smell, abnormal heating, or sparks. Repair guides state plainly that continuing to use a favoured angle often makes the damage worse, and another warns that a loose connection may lead to overheating, short-circuit risk, and charging problems, and in severe cases may affect the motherboard. The motherboard part is a third-party guide warning, not a vendor official assertion, and is cited here with the word 'may'.
This article does not teach do-it-yourself fixes such as bending pins back or wrapping tape around a plug to thicken it. Lower-level repair sites do describe such methods, but they carry short-circuit or further-damage risk and have no vendor official support, so the research lists them as not recommended and this article does not adopt them.
Barrel and USB-C port wear must not be conflated. Barrel wear or damage usually shows as an unstable plug, a bent or broken centre pin, and identification failure (BIOS Unknown, start-up warnings). USB-C wear or damage usually shows as a wobbling plug, intermittent connection, and PD negotiation failure (adapter not recognised, or only low power). But a USB-C port also carries data and display, so a USB device being recognised does not prove the charging function works. No vendor official document was found quantifying USB-C port insertion lifespan or how many millimetres of looseness counts as faulty, so this article gives no specific insertion count or looseness measurement, both marked unconfirmed.
Chapter 6: EC and BIOS charge thresholds and charge-limit settings
The general principle is that charge limits are controlled by the Embedded Controller (EC), the BIOS, or a vendor tool, while Windows itself has no universal switch. Each brand below is split between official documentation and official-forum or third-party material, and the two levels must not be merged into one. Every brand limit number must be written together with its model or generation condition, never as a whole-brand rule.
For Lenovo, official documentation contains two numbers side by side, a divergence most likely explained by model or generation. Legion Slim 5 and Yoga Slim 7i official guides state that Conservation Mode holds charge at 75% to 80%. A Lenovo official support page on extending battery life, however, states that choosing the battery-lifespan or Conservation Mode option charges the battery to 80% or 60% of design capacity. Another Lenovo official support page states that a '60% available' message may mean a lifespan extension setting is on, and that a system charging only to 55% to 60% may have Conservation Mode or a custom charge threshold enabled, with the switch-off path through Vantage device settings and battery settings, Conservation Mode for Lenovo models and custom thresholds for ThinkPad models. Older tools coexist with Vantage, so readers should follow whichever tool is actually installed on their machine, not treat four tool paths as existing on one machine at the same time. The specific percentage ranges for ThinkPad custom thresholds are unconfirmed: the official support page only confirms that a custom threshold switch exists, so this article does not cite the ranges given in third-party guides. A ThinkPad official user guide also states that after a full charge, the battery must discharge to 94% or below before it is allowed to charge again. This is normal charging logic, not a fault, and can explain a brief 'not charging' display after unplugging and replugging at 100%, but it cannot explain a long-term stop at 60% or 80%, which should be compared against the limit settings above. A Yoga Slim official guide also describes overnight charge optimisation: the system learns a pattern of plugging in at night and unplugging in the morning, holds charge at a range overnight, and tops up to 100% near morning, so unplugging early one day may reveal a battery that is not yet full. This applies only to models supporting that feature.
For Dell, official troubleshooting documentation lists five BIOS Primary Battery Charge Configuration modes: Adaptive (learns from usage), Standard (charges to 100%), ExpressCharge (fast charges to about 80% in roughly one hour), Primarily AC Use (limits charging to 50% to 80% to extend lifespan), and Custom (user-defined thresholds). If Primarily AC Use or a low custom threshold is set, the battery will not exceed that limit, and switching back to Standard is needed for a full charge. The Dell limit is a range description, and this article does not simplify it to 'Dell always stops at 80%'. A Dell Optimizer official guide states that a custom battery setting requires a minimum gap between the Start Charging and Stop Charging values in the BIOS, with an example of Start at 65% (charging starts when the level falls to 65%) and Stop at 80% (charging stops at 80%). The official guide excerpts obtained do not state the minimum gap in percentage points, so that number is unconfirmed and this article only states that a minimum gap is required, without inventing a number. Dell official troubleshooting documentation also describes an Advanced Battery Charge feature on some Dell laptops that uses fast charging from the start of the day through the work period and standard charging at other times to protect battery health, with BIOS options varying by model and not applicable to models without that option. A Precision manual notes that not all batteries support all charging modes, and that the advanced charging option must first be turned off to enable some options, so this article does not claim every Dell machine has all five modes. A further distinction matters: when the BIOS does not recognise the adapter, the system actively limits charging as an identification-failure protection, which is different from a user limit setting, and the two sit in different BIOS locations.
For HP, old, new, and individual-model behaviours must be kept apart, and the boundaries by model, year, and BIOS version are unconfirmed as a complete map in the research, so this article only states that behaviour depends on the model. On the old behaviour, an HP official forum reply quoting an explanation lists three options - maximise battery duration, let HP manage battery charging, and maximise battery health - where maximising health lowers the maximum charge level to 80%, stops at 80%, and resumes only when the level falls to 75%, with the battery notification window showing not charging in the 75% to 80% range. That forum reply also cites an HP document number, but the research did not open that document text directly, so that point is unconfirmed as direct official text and is cited here as an HP forum quotation of a Battery Health Manager explanation, not as HP official document text. On the new behaviour, an HP forum reply states that under maximising health the Windows icon still shows 100% (representing the adjusted full-charge capacity) rather than the old maximum of 80%, with a heart icon in Windows 11 indicating the battery health feature is active, while an HP official learning-platform document reminds users that a Windows battery icon showing 80% is by design when maximising health, reflecting the old display. The two generations differ, so this article separates them and warns readers that seeing 100% does not mean the limit is off; the setting name must be checked in the BIOS. On individual models, an HP forum staff reply states that the HP ProBook 455 G7 Battery Health Manager uses an adaptive charging algorithm rather than a hard charge cap, so with maximising health enabled the system can still display and reach 100%, protecting the battery internally by lowering charging voltage, adjusting charging current, and reducing time spent at high voltage, with that reply marked as speaking personally rather than for HP. On older Pavilion models, one HP forum staff reply for the Pavilion 14 series states that HP laptops generally have no built-in charge-threshold setting, unlike some brands, and suggests manual plug management, while a newer HP forum reply teaches users to look in HP Support Assistant battery settings for Battery Health Manager or Smart Charging, or to set an 80% stop in the BIOS. The two replies differ in time, model, and feature name, so this article states that it depends on model and year, and teaches readers to check their own machine for the option, rather than stating that HP always has or never has an 80% limit.
For ASUS, the old three-level system and the new system must be kept apart, and the CPU-generation boundary is from the ASUS official support page itself, so it must be retained rather than written as if all ASUS machines have three levels. On the old system, ASUS official support states that models with CPUs before Intel Alder Lake or AMD Rembrandt can limit charging to 60%, 80%, or 100%, and explicitly warns that if the battery stops at 60% or 80%, the Battery Health Charging setting should be checked first, with Balanced Mode capped at 80% and Maximum Lifespan Mode capped at 60%. On the new system, ASUS official support states that models introduced in 2026 use adaptive learning technology: with Battery Care Mode on, the battery can charge to 80% to extend lifespan, the mechanism intelligently adjusts the recharge trigger point during long periods on AC power, unplugging and replugging AC once can charge immediately to 80% if needed, and an Instant Full-Charge Mode can provide a one-off 100% charge for going out, returning to limited charging after 24 hours. The adaptive details for 2026 models, such as the learning period and how the trigger point is calculated, are not explained further in the official support excerpts, so they are unconfirmed and this article only states the confirmed behaviours without speculating about the algorithm.
A general EC-level reminder from a third-party guide is unconfirmed in official documentation: uninstalling vendor tools such as Lenovo Vantage, MyASUS, or Dell Power Manager does not reset the limit stored in the EC, it only removes the interface for changing the setting, so to remove a limit the vendor tool must be reinstalled, the mode changed back to 100%, and the battery confirmed to pass the limit before uninstalling again. Cited as a third-party statement, it should be verified by testing whether the battery passes the limit after switching back to 100%, rather than by whether the tool is installed.
Chapter 7: Swollen battery safety warning (safety warning only, no battery-care content)
This chapter deliberately does not cover how to care for a battery so it does not swell. Charging habits, storage charge levels, and temperature management belong to earlier or battery-care topics. This chapter covers only how to recognise swelling, what to do immediately, what not to do, and what happens next.
On recognition, a Dell official manual states that lithium-polymer batteries have an inherent possibility of swelling, that swelling may affect machine performance, and that in severe cases it may further damage the casing or internal parts and cause failure. HP official forum case descriptions report casing deformation, a trackpad that cannot be pressed, and abnormal bulging near the keyboard as accompanying signs reported by users. A Lenovo tablet official document lists a swollen battery cover, a cracked screen, overheating during use or charging, and a burnt smell as abnormal signs requiring immediate stopping of use or charging, but note that this is a tablet document, not a laptop document, and must not be written directly as a Lenovo laptop official guide. The writing rule is that swelling is not always visible at a glance: suspected swelling, for example an uneven base, a lifted trackpad, or a casing that does not close properly, should be treated as swelling, and readers should not be asked to open the machine themselves to confirm it, since opening it to confirm already carries risk.
Dell official manual handling guidance, paraphrased without strengthening or weakening it, states: to prevent further damage to the casing or internal parts leading to failure, stop using the machine and discharge the battery by unplugging the adapter and using the machine on battery power until it will no longer power on. This discharge step is safety handling before replacement, not permission to keep using the machine day to day, and this article puts stopping use first so readers do not mistake discharging for continued use. A swollen battery should no longer be used, should be replaced and properly disposed of, and Dell product support should be contacted about replacement options under the applicable terms, including replacement by a Dell-authorised technician.
The Dell official do-not list can be turned directly into a warning box: handle lithium batteries with care and discharge before removing a battery; do not crush, drop, damage, or puncture a battery with a foreign object; do not expose a battery to high temperatures or take apart a battery pack or cell; do not apply pressure to the battery surface; do not bend the battery; do not pry the battery with any tool; if a battery is stuck because of swelling, do not try to force it out, since puncturing, bending, or crushing a battery can be very dangerous; and do not try to reinstall a damaged or swollen battery in a laptop.
HP and Lenovo wordings point in the same direction but differ in strength, and that disagreement must be presented honestly rather than by picking one side. An HP official forum staff reply states that if an HP laptop battery swells, the machine should be stopped immediately to prevent further hardware damage, the battery should not be charged or pressed at the affected area, and the machine should be placed on a hard flat surface away from flammable materials. An older HP forum reply states that a swollen battery should be replaced and properly disposed of, not thrown away as ordinary household waste, but at the same time states that a swollen battery generally does not present a safety issue, attributing swelling to gas generation in polymer cells or a normal ageing process. Another HP community thread states that for safety the machine should preferably be stopped before the battery is removed, and that after removal the machine can still run on adapter power and removal can relieve pressure on the top cover, keyboard, and trackpad, but this applies only to removable-battery or safely removable models and must not be written as 'all machines can run with the battery removed'. A Lenovo tablet official document states that on signs such as a swollen battery cover, a cracked screen, overheating, or a burnt smell during use or charging, use or charging should stop immediately, the product should be placed in a more open, ventilated place away from flammable materials, and a Lenovo authorised repair station should be contacted for inspection and repair. A Lenovo general safety document states that use should stop when a battery is damaged, leaking, or has foreign matter accumulated on its connector, and that batteries must not be short-circuited, put in water, heated above 100 degrees Celsius, taken apart, crushed, punctured, cut, or burned, with disposal following local law. The disagreement is that Dell and the Lenovo tablet document use strong stop-and-inspect wording, while the older HP reply also says a swollen battery generally does not present a safety issue. The safe formulation used throughout this article is the conservative one: suspected swelling means stop use, charge no more, and send the machine for inspection, without asserting that it will definitely catch fire or that it is definitely safe. Neither extreme has sufficient source support.
For before and after inspection, this article states only: stop use, charge no more, do not press, bend, pry, or puncture, place on a flat ventilated surface away from flammable materials, contact vendor support or authorised repair, and dispose of the battery under local law. It does not state: steps for taking apart a built-in battery yourself, how to let gas out or press a battery flat, fixing a swollen battery in place with tape or weights to keep using it, or throwing a swollen battery away as ordinary waste. All of those lack official source support and directly conflict with the Dell do-not list. No battery-care advice is given here; the only exception is that charge-limit settings causing a percentage to stop rising appear in Chapter 6 as a diagnostic point, not as care advice.
Chapter 8: Advanced differentiation flow (outside in, no skipped steps)
Combining Dell official troubleshooting with third-party guides, the reasonable order is as follows. When seeking repair or help, provide the model, the icon wording, whether unplugging kills the machine instantly, the adapter wattage, the design and full-charge capacities, and any test error codes together.
1. Rule out the simplest power problems first: plug the adapter directly into a wall socket for one test, without a power strip or dock, bypass any dock or hub and plug directly into the machine, and try another USB-C charging port if one exists.
2. Verify wattage and identification: read the adapter label output in volts multiplied by amps, and enter the BIOS to check adapter identification and battery health. For Dell, press F2 at start-up. Unknown means not recognised.
3. Swap-test the adapter plus cable: try a known-good adapter at or above the original wattage with a matching PD cable. Note that the cable itself can cap power at 60W, so swapping the adapter without swapping the cable may not isolate the fault.
4. Observe the percentage behaviour: stopped at a threshold, stuck on a random number, falling only under heavy load, or reacting to cable movement. The four behaviours point in different directions.
5. Check settings and drivers: the vendor battery tool limit setting, BIOS and driver updates, and reinstalling the battery driver in Device Manager. A driver problem usually does not make a machine die the moment it is unplugged, so this can serve as an auxiliary clue for separating the two main symptoms, not as the main cause.
6. Run a battery-versus-adapter separation test, only for removable-battery models: remove the battery and power on with the adapter alone. If it runs, that points more to the battery; if it does not run, that points more to the power or motherboard level. Microsoft Q&A troubleshooting and Dell community troubleshooting use the same logic.
7. Compare the battery report: generate the report as in Chapter 3 and compare it against the four-branch summary.
8. Stop points: no improvement after swapping adapter, cable, and port, BIOS still Unknown, sparks, a burnt smell, or abnormal heating at the port, or a swollen battery. If any of these appears, the article states that the machine should be sent for inspection, and readers should not be told to keep replugging and testing.
Sentences that must not be written as diagnoses before cross-testing include 'replacing the battery will definitely fix it', 'replacing the adapter will definitely fix it', and 'the motherboard is faulty'. The article ends with an inspection-first statement instead. On high-temperature charging pauses, third-party guides state that firmware may pause charging when hot, but no official source gives a specific temperature threshold, so this article only states that overheating may pause charging and that the machine should be observed again after cooling, without inventing a temperature number. A Lenovo manual charging-temperature recommendation and a third-party guide's preferred range disagree, so this article does not state one temperature as a universal threshold for all machines.
Pricing
All repairs are subject to a written quotation after inspection. Confirmed standard charges are listed below, and anything outside this range is subject to a written quotation after inspection.
| Item | Charge |
|---|---|
| Battery | From HK$580 |
| Screen | From HK$1,280 |
| Motherboard chip-level repair | From HK$880 |
| Keyboard | From HK$480 |
| Other repairs (including charging-port, adapter-related, and charging-circuit inspection) | Subject to a written quotation after inspection |
Unconfirmed or disputed items (must be re-verified before publication, never written as conclusions)
Researcher A items: U1, the 80% pass mark has no official source support and may only be used as a common reference; U2, the Dell 'half capacity lost means replace' paraphrase is unconfirmed; U3, the red-cross icon is only in third-party guides and not verified in official text; U4, no complete Microsoft official table for the three Windows messages was obtained, third-party distinctions must be labelled as summaries, and wording may differ by Windows version; U5, Lenovo Conservation numbers diverge, with 75% to 80% and 55% to 60% both present, most likely by model or generation; U6, custom threshold ranges and the Dell minimum-gap percentage are not confirmed in official excerpts; U7, the Microsoft Learn powercfg document page and the HP document number c01297640 were not directly obtained with independent links and text, so citations must state they are second-hand; U8, HP feature coverage diverges, from no threshold feature to Smart Charging at 80% to ProBook adaptive charging with no visible cap, and the boundaries are not fully established; U9, ASUS 2026 adaptive details do not explain the learning period or trigger-point calculation, so no algorithm may be speculated; U10, powercfg execution rights and default paths diverge, and the path printed by the command should be used; U11, the EC register claim appears only in third-party guides, is not verified in official documentation, and should be verified by testing; U12, no official source gives a specific temperature threshold for high-temperature charging pauses, so only a general overheating statement may be made; U13, cycle-life numbers are not verified brand by brand in official excerpts, so this article discusses only the report field itself and does not present any one number as a universal lifespan for all brands.
Researcher B items: U1, individual high-power model USB-C limit numbers belong only to those model cases, and a marketplace article's claims for another model are not verified in official documentation and are not cited; U2, whether Windows has a built-in wattage display is not stated word for word in official documentation, and third-party tool readings are reference only; U3, limit percentage numbers differ by machine, and the HP adaptive recharge threshold, Lenovo 94% threshold, and Dell Hybrid Power rate and disable threshold are all limited to their own models or designs and must not be combined into a universal limit table; U4, swollen-battery safety wording diverges, with Dell and the Lenovo tablet document using strong wording while an older HP reply also says a swollen battery generally does not present a safety issue, so this article uses conservative wording; U5, no laptop-specific Lenovo swelling guide was found, with the guides found coming from a tablet official document and a general safety document, so they must not be presented directly as a Lenovo laptop guide; U6, neither 'a high-wattage adapter is always safe' nor 'a third-party adapter is always a problem' holds, and both sides must be stated; U7, charging-temperature threshold numbers diverge between a Lenovo manual recommendation and a third-party preferred range, so only a general direction is stated; U8, no official port-cleaning or do-it-yourself fixing steps were found, and lower-level sites' pin-bending or tape-wrapping methods carry risk and are not recommended here; U9, battery cycle-count and capacity-decay numbers are not verified and are not cited; U10, the boundary between dying instantly and dying after a few minutes has no official definition and is used only as an observation; U11, no per-model PD version support list was found, and the PD high-power theoretical maximum does not mean every machine supports it, so USB-C must not be described as charging at 240W; U12, on electronic-marker credibility, a third-party report states that a marker is only a chip declaration and software cannot verify the materials inside the cable, so a label does not equal a measured result; U13, the USB-C PD specification text was not directly obtained, with the concepts here coming from second-hand summaries of the specification and third-party guides, so second-hand summaries must not be presented as specification text; U14, the full text of the batch03 article was not attached to this drafting task, so this article follows the task premise and avoids repeating basic teaching, and the coordinator should compare it against the full batch03 text before publication to ensure no duplicated sections.
FAQ
Q1: If the laptop works while plugged in but dies when unplugged, is the battery definitely faulty?
A1: Not necessarily. Dying when unplugged most commonly points to a battery with no usable capacity left, a failed battery, or an internally disconnected battery, but the same symptom has two other replacement targets: a BIOS that does not recognise the adapter can mean replacing the adapter or repairing the port, and a BIOS that recognises the adapter but still will not charge after a battery swap points to the motherboard charging circuit. Follow the Chapter 8 cross-testing flow - direct wall connection, bypassing the dock, swapping a known-good adapter plus cable, checking BIOS identification, and comparing the battery report - before narrowing it down, and do not conclude from one symptom alone that a battery swap will definitely fix it.
Q2: If the percentage stays at 80% for a long time, is the machine faulty?
A2: Not necessarily. Check the limit setting first. Lenovo, Dell, HP, and ASUS all have vendor charge-limit features, and stopping on a fixed threshold such as 60% or 80% is often a setting, not a fault. Windows itself has no universal limit switch, so check the vendor battery tool or BIOS. Brand and model differences also matter: Lenovo has both 75% to 80% and 55% to 60% official wordings, Dell Primarily AC Use is a 50% to 80% range, HP old behaviour shows 80% while new behaviour may show 100% with a heart icon, and ASUS old behaviour has 60%, 80%, and 100% levels. Only after switching back to 100% and testing whether the battery passes the limit can the limit be considered truly removed.
Q3: What happens if a 65W adapter is plugged into a machine that needs 90W or 130W?
A3: Three outcomes are possible, and which one appears depends on the model design and the current load, not on a single rule. First, slow charging. Second, failure to hold charge, with the battery covering the shortfall and the percentage slowly falling under heavy load. Third, outright refusal to charge or a low-wattage warning. Dock or hub discounting and cable limits must also be counted: power actually reaching the machine after a dock or hub is discounted, and an ordinary cable without an electronic marker is generally limited to 60W, so swapping the adapter without swapping the cable may not isolate the fault. The safest test is a same-or-higher wattage original adapter with a matching cable plugged directly into the machine. Do not write that a 65W adapter will always charge, only more slowly.
Q4: If the battery is suspected to be swollen, can I keep using the machine plugged in for now?
A4: No. Suspected swelling, for example an uneven base, a lifted trackpad, or a casing that does not close properly, should be treated as swelling: stop using the machine immediately, charge it no more, do not press, bend, pry, or puncture it, place it on a flat ventilated surface away from flammable materials, and send it for inspection. The Dell manual discharge step is safety handling before replacement, not permission to keep using the machine day to day. Do not take apart a built-in battery yourself, do not try to let gas out or press a battery flat, do not fix a swollen battery in place with tape or weights to keep using it, and do not throw a swollen battery away as ordinary waste. All repairs are subject to a written quotation after inspection, as shown on the pricing page, and inspection can be booked through the diagnostic service.
Need Professional Laptop Repair?
Laptop King has 15+ years of repair experience in Shek Mun, Sha Tin. Free diagnosis, transparent pricing, no fix no fee. 180-day warranty for your peace of mind.
